top of page

Map of New Senate Districts

by Ken Signorello

April 19, 2022

The Senate Committee on Reapportionment recently approved its final description of new Legislative Senate districts. That was then added into the bill that included the new House Districts, H.722. After passage by both houses, Governor Phil Scott signed all of the reapportioned districts into law on April 6th.

One of the biggest changes in this year's bill is the end of Chittenden County's six-member Senate District.


With more than 120,000 constituents, Senate candidates found it difficult to campaign, and Senators were stretched, trying to represent the interests of more than 100,000 people.


Population growth in northwestern Vermont over the past ten years meant an extra Senator could be added to Chittenden county.

Rural / suburban parts of Essex Town that are generally north of Route 15 will share a single Senator with Milton, Westford, and Fairfax, That Senate district's southern boundary follows the contours of the new House districts in Essex Town and Junction. See map for greater detail.

The formerly six-member district has been divided. Three Senators will represent Burlington, Winooski, and Essex Junction, plus the remainder of Essex Town. Three other Senators will represent South Burlington, Shelburne, Charlotte, Williston, Jericho, Underhill, Bolton, and more.


bottom of page